Return to site

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs within Lord of the Flies Essay

Add paragraph text here.

Abraham Maslow formulated a theory of a hierarchy of needs, stating that he believed that human beings are motivated by unsatisfied or incomplete needs. In his theory there are five levels of certain needs in which lower needs need to be satisfied before higher needs can be achieved. The five needs are physiological, safety, love, esteem, and self-actualization. Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs applies to many of the characters in Lord of the Flies, such as Piggy, Ralph, and Jack, and shows how they are affected when their needs are unsatisfied.
The lowest and basic need of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs is physiological needs, which are the necessity of air, water, food, sleep, and shelter. Throughout the novel, the majority of the boys acquired all of their physiological needs. There were three shelters built of tree branches, logs, and leaves. The boys slept in the shelters at night for warmth and a sense of home. Many of the younger boys munched on the fruits they picked in the jungle and everyone ate roasted pig which Jack and his hunters slaughtered periodically.

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly